The Character in a Soap Opera Who Excited My Sympathy

The whole Island of Italy had set
out to write me poems of tragedy
& reversals of fortune, not one which
was worth reading in the lowest wreckage
or highest reach of my despondency.

I stomped on my golden cape and tore off
my salt-rusted crown, and ludicrously
wept into the Caspian Sea, praying
for an unfathomable act of cruel,
natural disaster that the gods might

deliver. Surely, my roughshod partition
required, had had to come with some type
of contract for me to shoehorn or, atleast,
scribble upon in this time of ruin,

but nay, nay!– … only this unfortunate for-
tune broken from the nautilus shell of a cookie:
Concerning how much your rucksack shall weigh, measure the weight of
A camel dragging a sandcastle of bricks by his tail, into the world beneath.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Sonnet in which Angels Do Not Age, Neither Do Clouds

A folk tale of rook-pecked corpses and rusty bicycles For which the pink elastic strings of the fable’s bikini Has been washed too many times Like laying A flaming palm branch of donkey shit at your door After S– stood you up twice for... Continue →